Skip to main content


Head of Department

Prof. Roy GibsonProfessor

Academic Staff

Dr Oliver BaldwinTeaching Fellow
Dr Caroline BarronAssistant Professor
Dr Erica BexleyAssociate Professor
Dr Giulia BonasioAssistant Professor
Prof. Andrea CapraProfessor
Prof. Serafina CuomoProfessor
Dr Christopher de LisleAssistant Professor
Dr. Thorsten FögenAssociate Professor (Reader)
Dr George Alexander GazisAssociate Professor
Dr Andrea GiannottiTeaching Fellow
Dr Nathan GilbertAssociate Professor
Prof. Nora GoldschmidtProfessor
Prof. Edith HallProfessor
Prof. Peter HeslinProfessor
Dr Theodore HillTeaching Fellow (Classics)
Prof Arlene Holmes-HendersonProfessor of Classics Education and Public Policy MBE
Prof. Phillip Sidney HorkyProfessor
Prof. Jennifer IngleheartProfessor
Dr Lucy C. M. M. JacksonAssistant Professor
Dr Anna JudsonAssistant Professor
Prof. Ted KaizerProfessor
Prof. Polly LowProfessor
Dr Konstantinos LygourisTeaching Fellow
Dr Katherine McDonaldAssistant Professor
Dr Sarah MilesAssociate Professor
Dr James Kieran OakleyTeaching Fellow
Dr Liam PrestonTeaching Fellow
Prof. Edmund RichardsonProfessor
Dr Alberto RigolioAssociate Professor
Dr Edmund ThomasAssociate Professor
Ms J. T. WolfendenAssistant Professor (Teaching)
Prof. Ioannis ZiogasProfessor

Research Staff

Dr Marta Garcia MorcilloResearch Fellow
Dr Yehudah GershonPost Doctoral Research Assistant
Dr Claire HallPostdoctoral Research Fellow: Leverhulme Fellow
Dr Brian McPheeVisiting Fellow and Loeb Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Dr Mara NicosiaPostdoctoral Research Fellow: BA Newton International Fellow
Dr Peter SwallowPostdoctoral Research Fellow: Leverhulme Fellow
Dr Alessandro VatriPost Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Rosie M WylesPostdoctoral Research Associate

Emeriti and Honorary Appointments

Prof. Edward HarrisEmeritus Professor
Dr Kathryn LomasHonorary Research Fellow
Dr Simona MartoranaHonorary Fellow
Prof. Christopher Rowe, OBEEmeritus Professor
Prof. Martin Ferguson Smith, OBEEmeritus Professor
Prof. A. J. WoodmanEmeritus Professor

Administrative staff 

Name Position Email
Miss Alexandria Allison Learning and Teaching Administrator
Mrs Jayne Ayre Learning and Teaching Administrator (PG)
Mrs Leanne Haikney Learning and Teaching Assistant Manager

Miss Rebecca Fraser Learning and Teaching Administrator (UG)
Ms Abigail Shovlin Department Manager 
Mrs Charlotte Spokes Operations Administrator
Mrs Emma Troup  Learning and Teaching Administrator