Skip to main content

Our People

Academic Staff

Professor Chris GreenwellHead of Department
Dr Keith AndrewsAssistant Professor
Professor Jas Pal S. BadyalProfessor
Professor Colin D. BainPro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Professor Ian R. BaxendaleDirector of Education
Dr Simon BeaumontAssociate Professor
Professor Andrew BeebyProfessor
Professor Tim R BlowerVisiting Associate Professor
Dr William BrittainAssistant Professor
Dr Patrycja BrookRoyal Society University Research Fellow
Professor Martin R. BryceProfessor
Professor Martin CannVisiting Professor
Dr David CartyAssociate Professor
Dr Peter ChiversVisiting Associate Professor
Professor Steven CobbProfessor
Dr Philippa CofferDirector of Teaching
Professor Sharon J. CooperAssociate Professor
Emeritus Professor Michael CramptonEmeritus Reader
Professor Aurora Cruz-CabezaProfessor
Professor Paul DennyProfessor
Dr Karrera DjokoVisiting Assistant Professor
Professor Philip W. DyerProfessor
Professor John S.O. EvansProfessor
Professor Ivana EvansProfessor
Emeritus Professor W. James FeastEmeritus Professor
Dr Mark A. FoxAssistant Professor
Dr Allegra FranchinoAssistant Professor
Dr Jemma GibbardRoyal Society University Research Fellow
Dr Amy HallLeverhulme Early Career Fellow
Professor Paul HodgkinsonProfessor
Professor David R.W. HodgsonProfessor
Emeritus Professor Judith A. K. HowardEmeritus Professor
Dr Andrew HughesAssociate Professor
Professor Jeremy M. HutsonProfessor
Dr Karen E. JohnstonAssociate Professor
Professor Ritu KatakyProfessor
Dr Matthew O. KitchingRoyal Society University Research Fellow and Associate Professor
Dr Clare MahonAssociate Professor
Jennifer MaunderLecturer
Dr Julieta Litka MilianAssistant Professor
Dr Mark MillerAssociate Professor
Dr John G. M. MinaVisiting Research Associate
Dr Kath NormanTeaching Fellow in Chemistry
Professor Annmarie C. O'DonoghueProfessor
Dr Luke O'DriscollTeaching Fellow
Professor Robert PalProfessor
Dr Lars-Olof PalssonAssociate Professor
Professor David ParkerEmeritus Professor
Professor Ehmke PohlDirector of Impact
Professor Nigel RobinsonVisiting Professor
Professor Jacquie RobsonProfessor
Dr Petja RosenqvistRoyal Society Newton International Fellow
Dr John M. SandersonAssociate Professor
Professor Jonathan W. SteedProfessor
Professor Patrick G. SteelProfessor
Dr Russell TaylorAssociate Professor
Dr Richard ThompsonAssociate Professor
Professor David J. TozerProfessor
Professor Jan R.R. VerletDirector of Research
Dr James W. WaltonAssociate Professor
Professor Andy WhitingEmeritus Professor
Professor J.A. Gareth WilliamsProfessor
Professor Mark Richard WilsonProfessor
Dr Eckart WredeAssociate Professor

Research Staff

Dr Sophie CloughResearch Associate
Davide De-RosaEarly Stage Researcher (Marie Curie)
Dr Genevieve DucheResearch Associate
Dr Stefanie Freitag-PohlResearch Associate
Matthew FryeResearch Associate
Dr Niloofar HaghighianResearch Associate
Mohammad Daud HamidiResearch Assistant
Dr Rachel HendriksePostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr David KingRoyal Society Entrepreneur in Residence
Dr Catherine Le-SueurResearch Fellow
Carissa LloydPostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Anju Massey-BrookerProfessor in Practice
Bijit MukherjeeAcademic Visitor
Dr Horst PuschmannProfessor in Practice
Dr Parth RavalPostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Catriona SellickResearch Associate
Lloyd ShawPostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Yiping ShiResearch Associate
Dr Matthieu StarckKTP Associate
Dr Emma TarrantResearch Associate
Dr Lisong YangResearch Associate
Dr Andrea ZachariouResearch Associate

Business Process and People Services

Jim FraserDepartment Manager
Nicola BramfittLearning and Teaching Manager
Emily ChesterPostgraduate Research Coordinator
Nyla Drisdale-GordonLevelling Up Officer
Beth FrenchLearning and Teaching Administrator
Rachel JacksonFinance Coordinator
David JamesFinance Officer
Jackie McKennaSOFI CDT Manager
Paul ReynoldsLearning and Teaching Administrator
Helene RusbyFinance Manager
Megan SmithOperations Administrator
Andy WalkerSenior Research Administrator
Emma WordenMoSMed CDT Manager
Lynn YoungLearning and Teaching Coordinator

Technical Teaching Research Services

Dr Juan A Aguilar-MalaviaHead of Solution State NMR Service
Kelvin ApplebyElectronics Workshop
Beth BeckHealth and Safety Technical Manager
Dr Toby BlundellSenior Experimental Officer
William CarswellResearch Services/Waste Disposal
Dr Aileen CongreveSenior Research Officer
Ashley DavenportTechnical Officer
Dr Bryan DentonSupervisor, Electronics Workshop
Ian EdwardsBiochemistry
Claire FairishLaboratory Attendant
Catherine HeffernanNMR liquid-state
Paul HofmannUndergraduate teaching & Facilities Manager
Robert HolmesSupervisor, Mechanical Workshop
Dr Eric HughesExperimental Officer
Anthony HumphriesIntermediate Technician
Emma KnightonSupervisor, Undergrad. lab.
Antony NewmanSenior Technician
Gary OswaldResearch Services
Dr Samuel PageManager Solid State - NMR Research Service
Dr Monik PanchalTechnical Manager for the Durham X-ray Absorption Spectroscopy Facility
Dr David ParkerMass Spec
Alison ReidLaboratory Attendant
Malcolm RichardsonSupervisor, Glassblowing Workshop
Dr Connor SibbaldSenior Technical Manager
George SleightTeaching Assistant
Alice SmithLaboratory Attendant
Mr Gary SouthernStores maintenance
Peter StokesExperimental Officer, Mass Spec
Rebecca SweeneyAssistant Technician
Dr Emily UnsworthElemental Analysis
Paul WhiteMechanical Workshop Technician